This website is part of the ECDC (European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control) network

Indicator-based surveillance

(For event-based surveillance, go to Epidemic Intelligence.)

Diseases and countries under EU surveillance

ECDC collects, analyses and disseminates surveillance data on 52 communicable diseases and related special health issues from all 28 European Union (EU) Member States and two European Economic Area (EEA) countries (Iceland and Norway). Data submission and subsequent validation is the responsibility of European networks of disease experts nominated by Member States.


Surveillance data and frequencies of reporting

Surveillance data collected at the European level are predominantly case-based and comprise demographic, clinical, epidemiological and laboratory information. They are reported annually (for most diseases and special health issues), quarterly (for salmonellosis and infection with enterohaemorrhagic E. coli), monthly (for measles and rubella), weekly (for influenza and West Nile fever) or daily (for travel-associated Legionnaires’ disease), as required for specific objectives, outputs and ensuing public health actions.

Joint efforts for standardising EU surveillance

ECDC and the European disease networks ensure standardised reporting and data comparability across Member States through use of common (externally quality-assured) diagnostic and typing methods, case definitions, metadata and reporting protocols. ECDC and the Member States also strive for routine data quality monitoring and evaluation of surveillance systems.  

Technical platform

The technical platform for EU/EEA communicable disease surveillance, i.e. web-based data submission, data storage and dissemination is The European Surveillance System (TESSy), a password-protected, fully anonymised database hosted by ECDC.

Data access

ECDC and nominated Member State surveillance experts are the default users of case-based EU/EEA surveillance data, but data access may also be granted to third parties upon request.
© European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) 2005 - 2015