This website is part of the ECDC (European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control) network


EUVAC.NET was a European surveillance network for selected vaccine-preventable diseases hosted at the Staten Serum Institute (SSI), Denmark. It incorporated all EU Member States together with Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and Turkey. The network was created in 1999 in line with the European Parliament and Council Decision No. 2119/98/EC which formed the basis of creating networks for the epidemiological surveillance and control of communicable diseases in the European Community.

In September 2011, the responsibilities of the EUVAC.NET were transferred to ECDC.






Measles is an acute illness caused by morbillivirus. The disease is transmitted via airborne respiratory droplets, or by direct contact with nasal and throat secretions of infected individuals.

Mumps is an acute illness caused by the mumps virus. It is characterised by fever and swelling of one or more salivary glands. It is the only cause of epidemic infectious parotitis.

Pertussis is an acute bacterial infection of the respiratory tract caused by the bacterium Bordetella pertussis. The disease is characterised by a severe cough, lasting for two months or even longer.

Rubella is a mild febrile rash illness caused by rubella virus. It is transmitted from person to person via droplets. It affects mainly children and when pregnant women are infected, it may result in malformation of the foetus.

Varicella infection (chickenpox)
Chickenpox is caused by the varicella-zoster virus (VZV), which also causes shingles. The virus spreads through the body into the skin causing rashes to appear.

© European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) 2005 - 2015