The team

Banner Epiet Euphem

The ECDC Fellowship Programme is coordinated by the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) in Stockholm, Sweden. The Fellowship Faculty Bureau is responsible for the administrative and logistic support of the faculty of the ECDC Fellowship Programme, including the curricular pathways for Intervention Epidemiology (EPIET) and Public Health Microbiology (EUPHEM). The head Scientific Coordinator of EPIET, head Scientific Coordinator of EUPHEM, one Scientific Coordinator of the ECDC Fellowship programme and four Fellowship Faculty Coordination Specialists are based at ECDC. The other members of the scientific coordination team are based in seven partnership institutes in EU Member States. In addition, the ECDC Fellowship Programme has close and formal collaboration with several national Field Epidemiology Training Programmes via an ‘EPIET Associated Programme agreement’ (EAP). Together, the ECDC Fellowship Programme and EAP are responsible for coordinating each yearly cohort of fellows.

​Head of Public Health Training Section/Head of ECDC Fellowship Programme: Carmen Varela Santos

Carmen.Varela@ecdc.europa.eu
Mob: +46 0 7 61 25 15 65

Head Scientific Coordinator of EUPHEM/Group leader ECDC Fellowship Programme: Dr. Aftab Jasir

Aftab.jasir@ecdc.europa.eu
Tel: + 46 8 586 01 356

Group Leader Fellowship Faculty Bureau: Anna Bohlin

Shares the responsibility for the logistical part of modules, seminars, courses and selection processes. 
anna.bohlin@ecdc.europa.eu
Tel: + 46 8 586 01 645

Fellowship Faculty Coordination Specialist: Aline Eklöf

Shares the responsibility for the logistical part of modules, seminars, courses and selection processes.
aline.eklof@ecdc.europa.eu
Tel: + 46 8 586 01 268 

Fellowship Faculty Coordination Specialist: Heidi Jung

Shares the responsibility for the logistical part of modules, seminars, courses and selection processes.
heidi.jung@ecdc.europa.eu
Tel: + 46 8 586 01 182 

Fellowship Faculty Coordination Specialist: Kristina Mittag-Leffler

Shares the responsibility for the logistical part of modules, seminars, courses and selection processes.
kristina.mittag-leffler@ecdc.europa.eu
Tel: + 46 8 586 01 026

Scientific Coordinator of the ECDC Fellowship programme: Alicia Barrasa Blanco

Alicia is a full-time coordinator for EPIET. She is based in Instituto de Salud Carlos III in Madrid, Spain
alicia@isciii.es
Tel: +34 91 822 26 02
Mob: + 34 696 407 147 

EAP Scientific Coordinator: Sam Bracebridge

Sam is the Director for the UK Field Epidemiology Training Programme (UK-FETP) at Public Health England (PHE) in London, UK and as such closely cooperates with EPIET.
sam.bracebridge@hpa.org.uk
Tel: + 44 20 8327 6384

Scientific Coordinator of the ECDC Fellowship programme: Dr. Louise Coole

Louise is a half-time coordinator for EPIET. She is based at Public Health England in Leeds, United Kingdom.
Louise.Coole@phe.gov.uk
Tel: +44 (0)113 855 7348 ; +44 (0)113 386 0300
Mob: +44 (0)7881 508 545

Scientific Coordinator of the ECDC Fellowship programme: Dr. Kostas Danis

Kostas is a full-time coordinator for EPIET. He is based the Sante Publique France-Public Health institute, Paris, France. 
c.danis@invs.sante.fr
Tel: + 33 1 55 12 53 34
Mob: + 33 664 68 43 43

Scientific Coordinator of the ECDC Fellowship programme: Lisa Hansen

Lisa is a full-time coordinator for EPIET. She is based at Rijksinstituut voor Volksgezondheid en Milieu (RIVM) Bilthoven, NL
lisa.hansen@rivm.nl
Tel +31 (0) 30 274 2083
Mob +31 (0) 63 870 6545

Scientific Coordinator of the ECDC Fellowship programme: Dr. Loredana Ingrosso

Loredana is a half-time coordinator for EUPHEM. She is based at the Istituto Superiore de Sanita (ISS), Rome, Italy.
loredana.ingrosso@iss.it

EAP Scientific Coordinator: Dr Ioannis Karagiannis

Ioannis is a full-time coordinator for the UK-FETP, which is an EPIET-associated programme (EAP).
He is based at Public Health England, London, UK.
ioannis.karagiannis@phe.gov.uk
Tel: +44 20 8327 7599; mob: +44779 539 1022

Scientific Coordinator of the ECDC Fellowship programme: Dr. Christopher Williams

Chris is a half-time coordinator for EPIET. He is based at Public Health Wales (PHW) in Cardiff, United Kingdom.
christopher.williams25@wales.nhs.uk
Tel + 44 2920 402549

Scientific Coordinator of the ECDC Fellowship programme: Dr. Christian Winter

Christian is a half-time coordinator for EPIET and half-time coordinator for the PAE programme.
He is based at the Robert Koch-Institute (RKI) in Berlin, Germany
WinterC@rki.de
Tel: +49  30 18754 3054

Scientific Coordinator of the ECDC Fellowship programme: Silvia Herrera

Silvia Herrera is a coordinator for EUPHEM.